Your Teacher
Submit your favorite teacher for our Hall of Fame

Contact Us

Use our online contact form to get in touch with the CEF.

Tell a Friend

Tell a friend about the CEF
Picture of sculpture/>  </div>
																<td id=

Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame Members:
Immortals of Catholic Education

In keeping with our mission and tradition of honoring some of the great religious educators of our own time and of times past, the Catholic Education Foundation instituted its Hall of Fame. Nothing epitomizes the value of a Catholic secondary education more than the relationship between a student and a Christ-like mentor/educator who builds a nurturing relationship with that student. The numbers of these relationships over the years are legion. We must recall this proud history, in order to ensure its continuation into a bright future. Therefore, it is an important objective of the Catholic Education Foundation to seek out and honor those people who have provided inspiration to so many.


the following persons nominated by members of the Matthias Circle and formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at our gala dinners over the years.

For biographical information about the Hall of Fame inductees, please click on their names below

Rev. John Bambrick (2011)

Mr. Christopher Boyle (2011)

Sr. M. Gilchrist, CE (2011)

Rev. Msgr. Leo F. McCarthy (2011)

Mr. Joseph Petriello (2011)

Rev. Geno Sylva, STD (2011)

Mr. Patrick Reilly (2009)

Most Rev. David Ricken (

Rev. Christopher Phillips (2009)

Mr. Lou Carnesecca (

Sr. Marie Pappas (

Mr. Joe Thomas

Rev. Joseph D. Fessio, SJ (2007)

Dr. Ralph McInerny (2007)

Katherine Donahue Freyvogel (2007)

Rev. Bernard Quinn posthumously inducted (2007)

Dr. Salvatore C. Ferrara (2007)

Rev. James V. Schall, SJ (2007)

Rev. Johann G. Roten, SM (2007)

Rev. James J. Fischer, SJ (2007)

Dr. Philip J. Whitcome posthumously inducted (2007)

Rev. Msgr. Patrick E. Brown (2005)

Br. John H. Campbell, SM (2003)

Most Rev. Edgar M. da Cunha, SDV (2005)

Mother Assumpta Long, OP (2005)

Rev. John H. McGrath, SM (2005)

Mr. Ed Nietopski (2003)

Mr. Vincent O’Connor (2005)

Mr. Jerome Allan Pessagno, PhD posthumously inducted (2003)

Br. Charles Roggemann, SM (2003)

Br. Owen J. Sadlier, OSF (2003)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Sean Cardinal O'Malley, OFM, Cap (2011)

Rev. Philip Eichner, SM (2009)

Sr. Margherita Marchione, MPF (2009)

Most Rev. Donald W. Wuerl (2007)

Organization of the Year

Center for Educational Leadership, Fordham University (2011)

Ave Maria University (2005)

Diocese of Pittsburgh (2003)

Individuals of the Year

Mr. John & Mrs. Donna Kurtz (2005)

Mr. Chris Godfrey (2003)